TODDLERS

16 Charming Read Alikes for Frog and Toad Books

If you’ve been reading Frog and Toad books but want more contemporary friendship adventures for growing readers, I’ve got you covered with a list of charming read alikes.

Throughout the years, I’ve read and reviewed many early readers and chapter books with the opposites attract kind of friendship. The list below represents my favorite of these warmhearted friendship stories that are similar to Frog and Toad’s themes, characters, and reading level.

The book series Frog and Toad by Arnold Lobel was published in the 1970s and still is one of the most popular books for early readers. With themes of kindness, simplicity, and friendship, the stories are warm-hearted and truthful, often metaphorical for the human condition.

On a side note, on April 28, 2023, “Frog and Toad” comes out as an animated show on Apple TV+! Watch the series trailer below. It’s based on the award-winning children’s book, and I’m assuming that the stories will keep the same themes and personalities of these beloved books. Watch Frog and Toad on Apple TV.

Frog and Toad are friends with different personalities, but their friendship endures making their relationship one of the greatest literary friendships of children’s books. Both characters are three-dimensional and interesting.

Frog is a friendly, outgoing character with a positive attitude.

Toad is a bit more grumpy and prefers to stay home.

In these friendship stories with characters who have opposite personalities. Their differences often provide valuable lessons and humor as they learn about being a good friend to each other.

Check out these fun activities to do alongside the books!

Do you have any favorite Frog and Toad books? Maybe Frog and Toad Are Friends or Days with Frog and Toad?

Frog and Toad Books

Here is a list of the Frog and Toad books in publication.

frog and toad

Frog and Toad Are Friends

Frog and Toad All Year

Frog and Toad Together

Days with Frog and Toad

Frog and Toad Collection Box Set

Frog and Toad Storybook Favorites

Read Alikes for Frog and Toad Books

read alikes for Frog and Toad

Pinch and Dash and the Terrible Couch by Michael J. Daley
FRIENDSHIP
Perfect for very beginning readers who don’t want to read nonsensical phonics books. Pinch and Dash has charming characters, a silly problem, and a perfect ending.

Frank and Bean Food Truck Fiasco by Jamie Michalak, illustrated by Bob Kolar
A laugh-out-loud, sweet story about good friends, Frank and Bean, who enter a food truck contest. Bean’s truck is donuts and Frank’s is oatmeal. Their biggest competition is Mad Dog’s Cupcakes. They become each other’s customers and invent a new food to sell — Friendship Bowls. Darling!

The Quiet Boat Ride and Other Stories (Fox + Chick) by Sergio Ruzzier
ADVENTURE / FRIENDSHIP
There’s such a sweetness in the playful adventures of two friends who, like Frog and Toad, have distinct personalities yet always support each other. That combined with the delectable comic panel illustrations plus easy text in dialogue bubbles make this book a new favorite.

See the Cat: Three Stories About a Dog by David LaRochelle, illustrated by Mike Wohnoutka
HUMOR
Kids who like silly stories will want to read this story repeatedly! Cat tells a story but Dog interrupts to disagree with Cat’s story. The silliness, repetition of words, and short text on each page make this an excellent 1st grade book.

Doggo & Pupper by Katherine Applegate, illustrated by Charlie Alder
Readers will adore this darling, heartwarming friendship story with repetition, minimal text, and illustrations that narrate much of the story. Doggo’s life is the same old thing –that is, until Pupper comes along. At first, Doggo is annoyed by Pupper’s energetic antics but changes his mind when Pupper returns from obedience school.

Kitty and Dragon by Meika Hashimoto, illustrated by Gillian Reid
In three sweet friendship stories, meet Kitty and her new friend, Dragon, who live together in a cave. The first story is about Kitty finding the cave and her new friend.

Bug Scouts Out in the Wild by Mike Lowery (graphic novel)
Beginning readers will love this exciting and hilarious friendship adventure graphic novel–with incredible art from author/illustrator Mike Lowery! Three bug friends have a super secret headquarters where they get to earn bug badges. The friends start on their first badge–foraging! But it doesn’t go as planned.

Bink & Gollie Best Friends Forever by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee, illustrated by Tony Fucile
The second book of funny Bink and Gollie (mis)adventures in friendship and life filled wonderful color illustrations. Get the first book here. This popular book series is a favorite with many girls.

Nugget and Hot Dog by Jason Tharp
HUMOR
Perfect for readers who like silliness, puns, and good conquering evil, this is the story of two friends, Dog and Nugget, who live in Gastropolis and start a kindness club to fight evil like the dastardly Dijon Mustard. 

Tig and Lily Tiger Trouble by Dan Thompson
Tig, the house cat, convinces a tiger named Lily that Lily is NOT a tiger, but Tig is. Tig has reasons, too. They include a straight-up tail and meowing, among other reasons. Kids will love the silliness of the misunderstandings and Tig’s emotional roller coaster from irritation to compassion. A clever and sweet story of friendship…and cats.

Arnold and Louise The Great Lousweezie by Erica S. Perl, illustrated by Chris Chatterton
FRIENDSHIP
I like the simple text and illustrations in this easy chapter book series. Even better is the message of friendship. Arnold isn’t too sure that Louise can predict the future, but he is kind enough to find a way to make sure Louise knows she’s valued.

Pug Pals Two’s a Crowd by Flora Ahn
Sunny’s whole life is turned upside down when her owner brings home a new sister, Rosy. It’s hard to share her owner’s time, and especially hard to share her toys. Adorable illustrations show these personality-filled pugs who eventually develop a solid sister bond while looking for Sunny’s lost Mr. Bunny toy.

Bear and Bird The Picnic by Jarvis
These are darling stories of small adventures that are full of miscommunications. Luckily even when Bear forgets to pack the picnic, he figures out something better, and it all works out because the friends are adaptable. Best friends forever!

Donut Feed the Squirrels by Mika Song
Norma and Belly are squirrel friends who really, really want a donut. Can they work together, sneak in a food truck, and have the biggest donut party ever? Minimal text, plenty of silliness, and a lovely surprise ending!

Baloney and Friends Going Up! by Greg Pizzoli
Another hilarious graphic novel for growing readers, this is about a group of friends with distinct personalities. From writing a theme song to sleepovers to thinking deep thoughts, this book of stories showcases characters you can’t help but love –Baloney the pig, Bizz the bumblebee, Peanut the horse, and Krabbit the rabbit! Plus, read the directions for drawing the characters with emotions in the back.

Fox and Rabbit by Beth Ferry, illustrated by Gergely Dudas
REALISTIC
Reminiscent of Frog and Toad, these are darling stories in graphic novel format about two best friends who have wonderful adventures.

What is the central message of Frog and Toad?

Friends who are different can be the best of friends to each other, showing each other kindness and consideration for the other person’s personality.

Do Frog and Toad have friends?

You’ll also meet other characters, including Snail, Turtle, Bird, Mouse, Owl, and other animals!

Why is Frog and Toad so good?

The stories resonate with the truth about relationships and life. Plus, the childlike activities and adventures the two friends experience feel relatable.

If you've been reading Frog and Toad books and looking for more contemporary friendship adventures for early readers, I've got you covered with a list of charming read alikes.

KEEP READING

Read Alikes for the Magic Tree House Books

Find a Good Book Bag

I Spy Books

Sandra Boynton Books

Originally Posted Here

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button