2023 Newbery & Caldecott Awards

This morning, the American Library Association Youth Media announced children’s book awards, including the 2023 Newbery and Caldecott awards and honors books. But, the ALA also gives many other awards, including Sydney Taylor, Coretta Scott King, and the Odyssey Award, some of which I’ve included below.

John Newbery Award 2023

First awarded in 1922 and named for a British bookseller, this is an annually awarded book winner plus honors for the most distinguished book for children.

The Newbery award winner for 2023 is:

Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson

The Newbery honor titles are:

Ivaliz Explains It All by Andrea Beatriz Arango, illustrated by Alyssa Bermudez
The Last Mamaker by CHristina Soontornvat
Maisy Chengs Last Chance by Lisa Yee

Randolph Caldecott Award

Started in 1938 and is awarded to the artist of the most distinguished American picture book for children.

The 2023 Caldecott award winner is:

Hot Dog, illustrated and written by Doug Salati.

The Caldecott honor books are:

Ain’t Burned All the Bright illustrated by Jason Griffin and written by Jason Reynolds
Berry Song illustrated and written by Michaela Goade
Choosing Brave illustrated by Janelle Washington, and written by Angela Joy
Night Owl illustrated and written by Christopher Denise

Geisel Award

This is the award for beginning reader books.

The winner is:

I Did It! by Michale Emberley

The Geisel honor books are:

Fish and Wave by Sergio Ruzzier
Gigi and Ojiji by Melissa Iwai
Owl and Penguin by Vikram Madan
A Seed Grows by Antoinette Portis

Sibert Book Award and Honor

This award goes to books for children written and illustrated to present, organize, and interpret documentable, factual material.

The Sibert medal winner is

Seen and Unseen by Elizabeth Partridge, illustrated by Lauren Tamaki

The Sibert honors go to:

Choosing Brave by Angela Joy illustrated by Janelle Washington
A Seed Grows by Antoinette Portis,
Sweet Justice by Mara Rockliff, illustrated by R. Gregory Christie
The Tower of Life: How Yaffa Eliach Rebuilt Her Town in Stories by Chana Stiefel, illustrated by Susan Gal

Coretta Scott King and John Steptoe Award

This award goes to books that promote the understanding and appreciation of all people.

The illustrator award goes to Frank Morrison for

Standing in the Need of Prayer, written by Carol Boston Weatherford.

The illustrator honors go to:

Me and the Boss illustrated by April Harrison, written by Michelle Edwards
Swim Team illustrated and written by Johnnie Christmas
Victory. Stand! illustrated by Dawud Anyabwile, written by Tommie Smith and Derrick Barnes.

The New Talent Illustrator award goes to:

Janelle Washington for Choosing Brave written by Angela Joy
Jas Hammonds for We Deserve Monuments.

Coretta Scott King Author award goes to:

Freewater by Amina Luqman-Dawson.

The author honors go to:

Ibi Zobo for Star Child
Alicia B. Williams for The Talk
Tommie Smith and Derrick Barnes for Victory. Stand!

Odyssey Award

The Odyssey award goes to the best audiobook production.

The Odyssey children’s book award goes to:

Stuntboy in the Meantime by Jason Reynolds, narrated by Guy Lockard, Nile Bullock, Angel Pean, and cast.

The Odyssey Honors go to:

Three Billy Goat Gruff by Mac Barnett, narrated by Mac Barnett
The Demon in the Woods by Leigh Bardugo, narrated by Ben Barnes and cast
Inheritance a Visual Poem written by Elizavedo Acevado,
The First Helping (Lunch Lady) by Jarrett J Krosoczka, narrated by Kate Flannery and cast

Pura Belpré Award

The Belpré Youth Illustration Award  honoring Latinx writers and illustrators goes to:

Where Wonder Grows illustrated by Adriana M. Garcia, illustrated by Xelena Gonzalez.

The Belpré Youth Author Award  honoring Latinx writers and illustrators goes to:

Frizzy by Claribel A Ortega, illustrated by Rose Bousamra.

Sydney Taylor Awards

This award goes to outstanding children’s books that authentically portray the Jewish experience.

The 2023 picture book winner is:

The Tower of Life: How Yaffa Eliach Rebuilt Her Town in Stories by Chana Stiefel, illustrated by Susan Gal.

The middle grade winner is:

Aviva vs. the Dybbuk by Mari Lowe.

Asian/Pacific American Award for Literature

The award promotes Asian/Pacific American culture and heritage and is awarded based on literary and artistic merit.

The picture book winner is From the Tops of the Trees by Kao Kalia Yang, illustrated by Rachel Wada.

The children’s literature winner is Maizy Chen’s Last Chance by Lisa Yee.

 FOR ALL THE ALA AWARDS, visit their website.


Originally Posted Here

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button