TODDLERS

Read Alike Books for Kids Who Love The Princess in Black

The Princess in Black chapter book series by Shannon Hale and illustrated by LeUyen Pham is a popular fictional adventure about a spunky princess who secretly fights monsters. It’s a hugely popular beginning chapter book. If your kids love The Princess in Black books, here are more fantasy and adventure read alike book ideas to read next; books that they’ll love just as much.

How many Princess in Black books are there?

At this time, there are ten books in the series. Find all the Princess in Black books on Amazon or Bookshop.

What are the series titles in order?

Book 1: The Princess in Black

Book 2: The Princess in Black and the Perfect Princess Party

Book 3: The Princess in Black and the Hungry Bunny Horde

Book 4: The Princess in Black Takes a Vacation

Book 5: The Princess in Black and the Mysterious Playdate

Book 6: The Princess in Black and the Science Fair Scare

Book 7: The Princess in Black and the Bathtime Battle

Book 8: The Princess in Black and the Giant Problem

Book 9: The Princess in Black and the Mermaid Princess

Book 10: The Princess in Black and the Princess in Pink

What ages and grade levels should read Princess in Black?

The tricky thing for me when recommending read-alike books is to give you titles that are more or less at the same reading comprehension level.

First let’s start with the Princess in Black titles. Their reading level is around 1st – 2nd grade with a
guided reading level of L and M, a Lexile level between 340 – 500, and a DRA level between 20 – 24.

The books list first on this list are around the same reading level which, depending on the books, also contain plots with strong female main characters and are either fantasy or realistic for first or second grades.

Of course, they’re all great stories that keep kids reading.

Read Alike Books for Kids Who Love Princess in Black

easy beginning chapter books
Meet Yasmin!
 
by Saadia Faruqui, illustrated by Hatem Aly
Yasmin is an exuberant girl interested in everything from exploring to building to fashion. This book tells four short stories from Yasmin’s life, all in chapters with lively, full-color illustrations. Each story shows Yasmin as a creative problem solver even when things get hard. Her Pakistani American culture is embedded throughout the story such as the foods Yasmin’s family eats like naan or how she calls her father Baba.

Moldylocks and the Three Beards by Norah Z. Jones
Princess Pink accidentally enters a mixed-up fairy tale land through her refrigerator. While there, she meets a green-haired girl named Moldylocks who suggests they can get some food at the Three Beards house. When the Beards discover the girls, Princess escapes but Moldylocks is captured. Yikes! Will Moldylocks escape? Your kids will crack up at this hilarious, punny story.


Read Alike Books for Kids Who Love Princess in Black
Owl Diaries Eva’s Treetop Festival
by Rebecca Elliott
This series pops with cute diary entries with colorful illustrations; it’s just right for beginning readers, particularly girls. In this book, Eva writes in her diary about getting the Bloomtastic Festival organized and how she eventually learns to ask friends for help.


Read Alike Books for Kids Who Love Princess in Black
Olive & Beatrix The Super Smelly Moldy Blob
by Amy Marie Stadelmann
It’s science fair time and these twins, one who is a witch and one who is a super smart science nerd, are in it to win it. Except disaster happens when the girls fight and their projects combine to form a huge green blog that absorbs everything. It will take both their skills to fix this slimy problem. An enjoyable book series for 5- and 6- year old readers.

Read Alike Books for Kids Who Love Princess in Black
Bink & Gollie Best Friends Forever
 by Kate DiCamillo and Alison McGhee, illustrated by Tony Fucile
The second book of funny Bink and Gollie (mis)adventures in friendship and life filled wonderful color illustrations. Get the first book here.  Kids, girls especially, love these stories!


The Fabled Stables Willa the Wisp
by Jonathan Auxier, illustrated by Olga Demidova
Auggie, the only human, lives on an island of mythical creatures but he’s lonely. When a new stall magically appears, Auggie enters and meets a Wisp who is hunted by ruthless magical poachers. It’s a darling start to a new series perfect for fantasy-loving readers.


Read Alike Books for Kids Who Love Princess in Black
Jessica Finch in Pig Trouble
by Megan McDonald, illustrated by Erwin Madrid
Jessica Finch is a delightful beginning chapter book with exceptionally pleasing and colorful illustrations. Jessica wants nothing more than a pig for a pet. For her birthday. When a misunderstanding happens with her best friend, Judy Moody, she learns a valuable lesson about not making assumptions and calling people names.

Sofia Martinez My Vida Loca by Jacquline Jules
Perfecto! My Vida Loca is a warm-hearted beginning chapter book about the adventures of a spunky girl named Sopha — from her singing (that annoys everyone except abuela) to a cooking mishap of arroz con leche that her familia helps her fix. I love the bright pink text that indicates the Spanish words (maybe 1 or 2 a page). Illustrations are fun, capturing the emotions and action perfectamente.

The Magic Mirror (Once Upon a Fairy Tale) by Anna Staniszewski, illustrated by Macky Pamintuan
Readers who love fantasy, adventure, and mystery will love this story of two good friends who travel to help the ice and sun princesses solve two big problems to save The Enchanted Kingdom from everlasting summer… When Kara learns the ice princess is in trouble, she and her best friend Zed travel to her ice palace to help fix her magic mirror that is shattered in pieces and missing a piece. Will the friends be able to solve both problems?

A Bit Harder Easy Chapter Books for Kids Who Love The Princess in Black

These books are just a little bit harder than Princess in Black but will be just as well-loved. These are guided reading levels M and up and Lexile levels 500 to 800.


Diary of an Ice Princess: Snow Place Like Home
by Christina Soontornvat
This charming new series for early readers features magic, friendship, myths, and diversity in a story about a girl whose family are windtamers who live in the clouds, magical beings who control the wind and weather. Unfortunately, Princess Lina’s powers are going wonky, especially when she gets upset. Luckily, her wise (and loud) grandfather helps Lina discover her true talents.

Mia Mayhem Is a Superhero! by Kara West, illustrated by Leeza Hernandez
When Mia gets accepted into the Superhero training program, she learns that she is SUPER. She even learns that her parents are, also. After school at her new superhero training, she has a disastrous first day and learns that it takes work to become a superhero. Black and white illustrations, bigger print, and an exciting story make this a winning series for growing readers.

Read Alike Books for Kids Who Love Princess in Black
Zoey and Sassafras Dragons and Marshmallows #1 by Asia Citro, illustrated by Marion Lindsay
This is an entertaining and well-written story with the coolest mix of science and magic, a diverse main character, and fantastic illustrations that will get kids reading and learning. Zoey, like her mom, can see magical creatures and is tasked to care for any injured creatures that might need help. In this story, she uses her science skills (including research and the scientific method) to figure out how to care for a sick baby dragon.

Dory and the Real True Friend by Abby Hanlon
Dory is one of my favorite book characters because her imagination is THE BEST! She has three imaginary friends: one monster friend, one fairy godmother that’s actually not a lady, and one bad lady nemesis. I love this story because she meets a real-life friend who understands all about imaginary friends and together, they’re the perfect match.

Rainbow Magic Fairies by Daisy Meadows
These are very predictable but kids ADORE these books – they are some of the most checked-out books at our library. They’re about two human girls who are trusted to help the magical fairies search for something Jack Frost’s goblins stole.

Amelia Bedelia Means Business by Herman Parish, illustrated by Lynne Avril
I’ve been enjoying these updated Amelia chapter books by the original author’s son. In this story, Amelia tries to make money for a new bike. Great for readers who love goofy humor and wordplay.

Kylie Jean: Drama Queen by Marci Peschke
Kylie Jean is all Texas, determined and spunky! My daughter loved reading all about Kylie Jean’s interesting life adventures — from the school play to basketball to dancing.

Zita the Spacegirl by Ben Hatke
One of our favorite graphic novels! Zita the Spacegirl is a true friend who not only saves her best friend but the galaxy! If kids like The Princess in Black, they’ll also like this read-alike book with a strong female main character.

Daisy Dawson Is On Her Way by Steve Voake
Daisy can talk to animals! You’ll love her free spirit personality and her kindness in all sorts of adventures. Her spunky spirit reminds me of the Princess in Black.

Giants Beware! by Jorge Aguirre, illustrated by Rafael Rosado
Claudette is a dragon-slaying, mischievous girl who tricks her little brother and her best friend (a princess) into questing to kill the dragon. It’s a delightful graphic novel, I loved every second of it. But don’t worry, there is no killing of any dragons. Your boys and girls will love this one — I just gave it to a third-grader reluctant reader, and his mom said he’s already on his third time through.

Princess in Black Read Alike Books

Kitty and the Moonlight Rescue by Paula Harrison, illustrated by Jenny Lovlie
Kittie’s mom is a superhero with cat powers, but Kitty isn’t ready to do what her mom does. However, when her mom is gone, a cat named Figaro comes to her that needs help. Kitty wants to help so she decides to be brave. Wearing her cat costume, she travels through the night to help her new cat friends– and discovers she can do more than she thought possible.

Have Fun, Anna Hibiscus! by Atinuke
Anna Hibiscus lives in amazing Africa, but in this story, she goes by herself to visit her Granny Canada in Canada, where it’s snowy and cold. Anna gets to wear warm clothes and eat new foods. She even gets comfortable with Granny Canada’s dog and makes new friends. This is a delightful story of a sweet girl on an exciting new adventure.

Piper Morgan Joins the Circus by Stephanie Faris, illustrated by Lucy Fleming
This is a cute and interesting series about a girl whose mom moves a lot for different jobs. In this story, they’re living with the circus. I loved the plot and how Piper eventually makes friends and learns a routine but felt sad when the ending came and the mom’s job was done so they had to move. But, that leaves quite the opportunity for more jobs and more books 

The Critter Club by Callie Barkley, illustrated by Martha Riti
The girls in the Critter Club love animals and want to help them any way they can. Sweet stories for animal lovers!

The Princess in Black chapter book series by Shannon Hale and illustrated by LeUyen Pham is a popular fictional adventure about a spunky princess who secretly fights monsters. It's a hugely popular beginning chapter book. If your kids love The Princess in Black books, here are more fantasy and adventure read alike book ideas to read next; books that they'll love just as much.

KEEP READING

Dog Man Read Alike Books

Junie B. Jones Read Alike Books

Magic Tree House Read Alikes

Originally Posted Here

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button